Wishing I could dance the quebradita


 

The quebradita is a dance style that is a combination of county western steps, merengue, and cheerleading stunts. Some see influence of the Lindy Hop, as well. At first I thought it originated in Mexico, but now I’m not so sure. According to this book by Sydney Hutchinson* , the dance evolved  in the Mexican-American community and it is seen as a backlash to the anti-immigrant rhetoric that was taking hold in California in the early to mid 1990s. The dance has developed a strong following south of the border, as well. The first time I saw the quebradita was a few years ago when I was watching one of those Mexican television dance contest shows. I’ve tried it myself, but not with much success. The last time I checked, the Las Pulgas nightclub on  Tijuana’s tourist strip of Avenida Revolucion was one of the places south of the border to go see regular local people doing these moves.

*Sydney Hutchinson book is “From Quebratida to Duranguense: Dance in Mexican American Youth Culture

Here’s another YouTube video of how you might see the quebradita danced in tighter quarters with more subdued moves.

YouTube video of quebradita dancers originally posted by rbdpancho1

7 responses to “Wishing I could dance the quebradita

  1. It has been interesting to see the resurgence of quebradita on both sides of the border in the last couple of years. When I was doing my research it seemed it was about to die out. But it is such an amazing dance – I’m glad to see people get interested again. Thanks for mentioning my book and for posting the videos!

  2. Hi, Syndey. Thanks for writing! Any idea as to why the quebradita saw a resurgence?

    I am wondering if it got “rediscovered” in Mexico, evolved in some new directions, and then crossed back north again…

  3. Where can I learn to move like that? Especially the lady, she was practically dancing on springs. I will have to hit up Las Pulgas and check out the dance scene. Thanks for the post

  4. Oh, but you can you know!!! Just watch the video over and over and over and you’ll get it . .. you taught us ALL your salsa moves in ‘Frisco that year, remember?

    p.s. look me up on regular WordPress, I did an internet radio interview in SD in January.

  5. I think I’ve forgotten all those moves now..I would have to start from scratch.

  6. Pingback: Channeling my inner Zumba hip-hop dancer « The Mija Chronicles

  7. quebradita is also used in the widely known Zumba® work out.
    This should add to the popularity as well.

    good luck practicing y’all!

Leave a Reply

