Tijuana gets a new basketball team: The Cosmos


Picture 9

For some of you, it may come as a surprise that Tijuana had a basketball team for four years called Los Galgos. I finally got around to attending a Galgos game earlier this year, and had a great time learning more about the team, which like others in the Mexican basketball league has players from both sides of the border.

But it appears that the Galgos (a type of Greyhound) are no more. They are being replaced with a new team, called Los Cosmos, and new owners. I spotted this story in Tijuana’s Frontera newspaper recently about the new team’s logo, which  will include an image of the round-shaped CECUT cultural center in Tijuana near a basketball with the stars glittering above. The team will apparently get new colors, too: blue, orange and grey. (By the way, Mexicali also has a basketball team, the Soles or the Suns).

La Cronica newspaper in Mexicali reports that Los Cosmos will represent Tijuana in the country’s National Professional Basketball League starting this 2009-2010 season and their first game will be Sept. 10 against the Jaibos de Tampico. I’m hoping to hear back from Galgos fans to learn more about whether we will be seeing the same players suited up in different colors or if this will be a completely different crew.

Screenshot of logo from Frontera article.

4 responses to “Tijuana gets a new basketball team: The Cosmos

  1. Hey Anna,

    I am trying to find a schedule for Los Cosmos, have you found one? I was hoping they would have a game on February 6 or maybe another sporting event on that Saturday. My cousin is really good at basketball and I want him to go check out the games with me. Thanks for any help.

    Cheers,

    Hansen

  2. Hi, Hansen. You are right – they need to do a better job of updating their web site!

    If you are already going to be there this weekend, I would suggest swinging by a D’Volada coffee shop (or maybe Starbucks) to pick up their weekly entertainment guide ( I am spacing on the name of it right now). It has a listing for sports, and it would have that info. there.

    If I can find one, I”ll save one. I’ll be there on Saturday.

  3. Im trying to find a contact number or email for the team president.. He is an old friend of mine and I can’t get him.. I tried the number off the website but no answer.. Is there any way you can help me..

  4. Hi, Brian. what is the name of the team president? I can ask my TJ contacts, or maybe someone else who is reading this blog post has a quicker answer for your.

    Anna

Leave a Reply

